2013-14 Timetable – New Trains – Northeast Frontier Railway

Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) zone has announced the details of new trains to be introduced in the year 2013-14 which will be included in the new time table which comes into effect from July 01 2013. Dates of introduction of all these trains will be notified later. These trains and details are as under:

12552/12551  Kamakhya – Bangalore Yeshwantpur Weekly AC Superfast Express

Days of Service & Timings

12552 will depart every Wednesday at 1400 from Guwahati Kamakhya to reach Yeshwantpur at 1830 on Fridays.

12551 will depart every Saturday at 0830 from Bangalore Yeshwantpur to reach Kamakhya at 1330 on Mondays

Running time: 52 hours 30 minutes (2 days and 4:30 hours)

Route and Stoppages: Rangiya, New Bongaigaon, New Alipurdar, New Coochbehar, New Jaipaiguri, Kishanganj, Barsoi, Rampurhat, Durgapur, Asansol, Adra, Bankura, Midnapur, Hijli, Balasore, Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Khurda Road, Brahmapur, Vizianagaram, Samalkot, Vijayawada, Gudur, Chennai Central, Katpadi. (25 stops)

Composition: ONE AC First Class, 3 AC 2-tier, 10 AC 3-tier, 1 Pantry Car, 2 Power Cars

Possible rake Sharing with Kamakhya – Mumbai LTT AC Superfast Express, pure LHB Rake.

A fully Air Conditioned premium service seemingly meant for passengers looking for a fast and comfortable direct connection from Guwahati to Bangalore without touching Kolkata. Not only does it skip Kolkata altogether but won’t even go anywhere near it, the nearest point being Durgapur. It follows the route of the famous Vivek express from Chennai Central till Kamakhya but bypasses Vizag and will not stop at Duvvada either. It has only 4 stops in the 800 km of journey from Yeshwantpur to Vijayawada. Rake reversal at Chennai Central.

15621/15622 Kamakhya – Delhi Anandvihar Terminus – Kamakhya Weekly Express

Has started running wef July 19 2013. 

Days of Service & Timings

15621 will depart Kamakhya every Thursday at 0610 to reach Delhi Anand Vihar Terminus at 1735 every Friday.

15622 will depart Delhi Anandvihar Terminus at 2345 every Friday to reach Kamakhya at 1445 every Sunday.

Running Time: 39 hours (1 day and 15 hours)

Stoppages: Goalpara Town, New Bongaigaon, Kokrajhar, Alipurduar Jn, Binnaguri, New Jaipaiguri, Kishanganj, Naugachia, Khagaria, Barauni, Hajipur, Chhapra, Siwan, Gorakhpur, Basti, Mankapur, Gonda, Sitapur Cantonment, Chandausi, Moradabad, Hapur, Gaziabad.

Composition: ONE AC 3-tier, 5 Sleeper Coaches, 6 General Second Class, 2 SLR (14 Coaches)

Bypasses many of the big places in UP and Bihar like Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Mughalsarai and Patna to take a northern route through rural UP. This train will use the same rake and days and times of departure but not the same route as the KYQ – NDLS SF Special running now. Also, it is a pretty small train seemingly meant to cater mostly to unreserved passengers. Turnaround time of only 6 hours at Delhi might prove troublesome.

15624/15623 Kamakhya – Bhagat ki Koti (Jodhpur) – Kamakhya Weekly Express

Has not started running yet. Date of introduction is not announced.

Days of Service & Timings

15624 will leave Guwahati Kamakhya every Friday at 1710 to reach Jodhpur Bhagat ki Koti at 2330 every Sunday.

15623 will leave Jodhpur Bhagat ki Koti at 2000 every Tuesday to reach Kamakhya at 2315 every Thursday.

Route and StoppagesRangiya, Barpeta Road, New Bongaigaon, Kohrajhar, New Alipurduar, New Coochbehar, New Jaipaiguri, Kishanganj, Sonaili, Naugachia, Khagaria, Barauni, Patna, Ara, Buxar, Mughalsarai, Varanasi, Shahganj, Ayodhya, Faizabad, Lucknow, Bareilly, Moradabad, Ghaziabad, Delhi, Delhi Cantonment, Gurgaon, Rewari, Mahendragarh, Luharu, Sadulpur, Churu, Sujangarh, Ladnun, Didwana, Choti Khatu, Khatu, Degana, Merta Road, Jodhpur.

Composition: 2 AC 2-tier, 3 AC 3-tier, 6 Sleeper Class, 6 General Second, 2 SLR (19 coaches)

A long, long service from the Eastern end of India to the other end. Goes on a merry-go-ride across UP to Delhi and from there takes the scenic roundabout route through Haryana and Rajasthan via Churu  bypassing Jaipur, the same route of the 22481/22482 Jodhpur – Delhi Express. It seems to be the fashion nowadays to have either too many unreserved coaches or none at all! Expected to be pretty slow and lengthy since it takes a roundabout route connecting mostly tier-2 and tier-3 cities. Anyway, another train aimed at migrant laborers.

15712/15711 Katihar – Kolkata Howrah – Katihar WeeklyExpress

Has started running wef February 17 2014.

Days of Service & Timings

15712 will depart Katihar every Monday at 2230 to reach Howrah at 0720 every Tuesday (next day).

15711 will depart Kolkata Howrah at 2155 every Tuesday to reach Katihar at 0645 every Wednesday (next day).

Route and Stoppages: Lava, Kumedpur, Harischandrpur, Samsi, Azimganj, Katwa Jn, Nabadwip Dham, Bandel

Composition: ONE AC 2-tier, 2 AC 3-tier, 5 Sleeper Coaches, 6 General Second Class, 2 SLR (16 Coaches)

Katihar in Bihar near the border with West Bengal gets its first direct train to Kolkata.

13281/13282 New Tinsukia – Patna Rajendranagar – New Tinsukia Weekly Express

Has Started Running from December 16 2013.

Days of Service & Timings

13281 will leave New Tinsukia every Monday at 0730 to reach Rajendranagar Terminus at 1425 the next day (Tuesday)

13282 will leave Patna Rajendranagar every Saturday at 1510 to reach New Tinsukia the next day (Sunday) at 2010.

Route and Stoppages: Duliajan, Naharkatia, Namrup, Simaluguri, Mariani, Furkating, Dimapur, Diphu, Lumding, Hojai, Chaparmukh, Jagiroad, Guwahati, Kamakhya, Goalpara Town, New Bongaigaon, Kohrajhar, Alipurduar Jn, New Jaipaiguri, Kishanganj, Naugachia, Khagaria, Begusarai, Barauni, Mokama, Bakhtiyarpur

Composition: ONE AC 2-tier, 3 AC 3-tier, 11 Sleeper Class, 4 General Second Class, 2 SLR (21 Coaches)

The latest train for this distant Indian outpost! This train is currently running as a summer special.

22310/22309 Kolkata Howrah – New Jalpaiguri – Howrah Weekly AC Chair Car SF Express! (ER)

Has Started Running from Jul 31 2013

Days of Service & Timings

22309 will leave Kolkata Howrah every Tuesday at 2305 to reach New Jaipaguri at 0920 the next day (Wednesday).

22310 will leave New Jalpaiguri every Wednesday at 1235 to reach Howrah at 2250 the same day night.

Running Time: 10 hours 15 min

Route and Stoppages: Aluabari, Kishanganj, Barsoi, Malda Town, Rampurhat, Bardhaman.

Composition: 11 GR/Yuva AC Chair Cars, 8 AC 3 tier Sleepers, 2 Power Cars (21 coaches)

Expected Loco Link: Siliguri WDP4/4B/4D

Surprise!! An AC Express which has only seating like a Yuva Express! In fact it actually is the same Yuva Express, the rake being utilized for an extra run after it arrives in Howrah from Delhi as per its modified timetable. But if passengers would prefer the cramped Garib Rath/Yuva chair cars for an overnight journey remains to be seen. Good initiative though.

Update: Yes, people did not prefer the cramped Yuva Chair Cars and the train ran empty as an almost big flop. Then they have mow augmented it with AC 3 tier sleepers.

Happy Journey!


Information provided here is only indicative in nature and please always confirm all information with official sources before relying on them (Contact your nearest railway station or call 139 or visit the official website of Indian Railways). This website is not an official website of the Indian Railways but is run by a railway enthusiast. The official website of the railways is http://indianrailways.gov.in.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x