AnnouncementsNew Trains

A New Rajdhani Express Between Mumbai and Delhi

Indian Railways has announced a new Rajdhani Express train to be started between Mumbai and Delhi. This latest addition to Indian Railways’ most prestigious class of trains will be operated by Central Railway. It will depart Mumbai from Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Termnus CSMT (VT) and run via the Central Railway line through Thane, Igatpuri and Nasik taking the longer route through Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh to reach Delhi Hazrat Nizamuddin station. It has been allocated only one rake so it will run only twice a week. This is the third Rajdhani connecting the ndian commercial and financial capitals. The already running existing two Rajdhani Expresses run daily between Mumbai and Delhi Rajdhani expresses via Gujarat and Rajasthan on the Western Railway line from Mumbai Central. The new Rajdhani runs around 300 km more in four hours than the fastest Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani. And the train has been allocated the fanciest of all train numbers on Indian Railways!

The inaugural run of the new Rajdhani will on Saturday, January 19, 2019 from Mumbai and on Sunday January 20, 2019 from Delhi.

22221/22222 Mumbai CSMT – Hazrat Nizamuddin – Mumbai CSMT Biweekly Rajdhani Express (CR)

Class: Rajdhani | Fare: Rajdhani Flexi | 1535 km | 9 halts | 19h30m | Speed: 79 kph

22221 NZM Rajdhani runs from Mumbai Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus CSMT to Delhi Hazrat Nizamuddin NZM on all Wednesdays, Saturdays. Full Timetable: Departs CSMT: 1450 (Wed, Sat), KYN: 1538, NK: 1758, JL: 2019, BPL: 0210 (Thu, Sun), JHS: 0531, AGC: 0757, arrives NZM: 1035 (Thu, Sun).

22222 CSMT Rajdhani runs from Delhi Hazrat Nizamuddin NZM to Mumbai Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus CSMT on all Sundays, Thursdays. Full Timetable: Departs NZM: 1615 (Thu, Sun), AGC: 1817, JHS: 2058, BPL: 0020 (Fri, Mon), JL: 0540, NK: 0820, KYN: 1050, arrives CSMT: 1155 (Mon, Fri).

Composition: 01 AC First Class, 03 AC 2 Tier, 08 AC 3 Tier, 02 EOGs

Route and Stoppages: Kalyan, Igatpuri (tech), Nasik, Jalgaon, Bhopal Jn., Jhansi, Agra Cantonment.

The clamour to run a dedicated Rajdhani Express between Mumbai and Delhi through the Central line from CST is decades old. It is great that the railways have finally acknowledged this request and it is even better that this train starts from CSMT instead of from LTT. Some years ago, CR started a weekly “AC Express” between LTT and Nizamuddin, which was expected by some to be be upgraded to a Rajdhani later on. However, that never happened. The new Rajdhani runs more or less on the same time table as the AC Express and on different days. If the schedule can be tweaked a bit this Rajdani can be made tri-weekly. Also, it is surprising that the train does not have a stop at Thane, since it a dedicated train from the eastern extensions of Mumbai, a stop at Thane would be immensely beneficial, including to passengers from Pune. In fact, all long-distance trains should have atleast one stop on city outskirts to help passengers save time considering how congested Indian cities are. The only matter of concern is hoping NCR controlling does not take a toll on the running of the train.

Here’s wishing the new Rajdhani all the best, and congratulations CR fans!

P.S. The inaugural run of the new Rajdhani from Mumbai to Delhi is sold out.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x